Integrated Care Board

Establishing our Integrated Care Board

The NHS Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon and Wiltshire (BSW) Integrated Care Board (ICB) was established in July 2022. The ICB is the new statutory NHS organisation responsible for planning and delivering health and care services and is being set up as part of the Government’s new health and care reforms. The ICB works collaboratively with partner organisations including the VCSE sector and people and communities in each Integrated Care System (ICS).

The ICB leadership team

We have appointed a new senior management team for our ICB led by Sue Harriman,  Chief Executive.  Our Chair of the ICB is Stephanie Elsy. You can read more about Sue Harriman and Stephanie Elsy below. The ICB will have a Governing Body. The role of the Governing Body is to ensure that the ICB has appropriate arrangements in place to exercise its functions efficiently, effectively and economically, and in accordance with principles of good governance.


Sue Harriman, Chief Executive Officer

Sue was Chief Executive of Solent NHS Trust from 2014 and in February 2021 completed a 6-month secondment as Chief Operating Officer for the national Covid vaccination deployment programme.  With more than 16 years clinical experience gained from working as a nurse in the Royal Navy, Sue joined the NHS in 2002 as a nurse consultant in infection prevention. In more recent years, Sue has held various executive roles within NHS, including as a Director of Nursing and Allied Health Professions, Chief Operating Officer and Managing Director before becoming Chief Executive at Solent NHS Trust.


Stephanie Elsy, Chair 

Stephanie has been Independent Chair of the BSW Partnership since November 2019 and has worked in the delivery of public services for over 30 years. She was a CEO in the charity sector for 15 years managing community and residential services for people recovering from substance misuse, people with disabilities and people living with HIV and AIDS. She then entered local politics as a Councillor in the London Borough of Southwark in 1995, becoming Chair of Education in 1998 and then Leader of the Council in 1999.

ICB Non-Executive Directors

Dr Claire Feehily – Non-Executive Director for Audit

Dr Feehily is a qualified accountant, holds an MBA and has particular expertise in financial and risk governance and in helping organisations to engage properly with those who use services and learn from what they say. She is currently a Non-Executive Director at Gloucestershire Hospitals Trust and a member the Board of the National Lottery Heritage Fund. She has previously been Chair of Healthwatch Gloucestershire. Claire trained as an accountant in local government, becoming Director of Finance at the City of Westminster and Assistant Director of Social Services and Assistant County Treasurer at Essex County Council. She has more than 30 years’ experience at executive and non-executive levels across the public and charitable sectors and has non-executive experience serving on three NHS boards since 2010.


Suzannah Power – Non-Executive Director for Remuneration and People

Suzannah has many years' Board level experience. She started her career in political research and has since worked in marketing, customer research and international education. She has been an advisor on seven NICE Guideline Development Groups, a member of the British Heart Foundation (BHF) Council and is a current member of the BHF Data Science Centre CVD-COVID UK Approvals and Oversight Board.  Her NHS experience includes roles in acute trusts, community trusts and commissioning organisations. She was previously Deputy Chair and Lay Member for Primary Care Commissioning at BSW CCG.


Professor Rory Shaw – Non-Executive Director for Quality & Performance

Professor Shaw trained as a physician at St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical School and has been Medical Director of three NHS Trusts: Northwest London Hospitals NHS Trust, the Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust and the Hammersmith Hospital NHS Trust. He was also Imperial College Professor of Respiratory Medicine at St Mary’s Hospital in London. In 2001 he was appointed by the then Minister of Health as the first Chairman of the National Patient Safety Agency and more recently was Medical Director of Healthcare UK within the Department of International Trade. He currently holds non-executive roles with two medical technology companies.

Julian Kirby – Non-Executive Director for Public and Community Engagement

Julian is a Wiltshire resident and has been Governing Body Lay Member for Patient and Public Engagement at Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon, and Wiltshire Clinical Commissioning Group (BSW CCG) since 2018. He currently chairs both the Quality and Performance and Finance Committees. Previously he was a Police Officer in the Wiltshire Constabulary, fulfilling many senior roles including Divisional Commander. In 2010 he was appointed Assistant Chief Constable of South Wales Police, one of the largest and busiest police forces in the country. On retiring from policing in 2014 he joined Age UK Salisbury as CEO where he was responsible for merging that charity with Age UK Wiltshire & Swindon in 2016 and leading the new organisation until 2020.


Paul Miller  – Non-Executive Director for Finance

Paul joins us from Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust where he has been a Board member since 2018. His experience spans 23 years as an executive director in a wide variety of large and complex organisations, including five years and Chief Executive in both Wales and England and 16 years as a director of finance in specialist regional, mental health and acute organisations. These roles covered finance, strategy, organisational leadership and successful working at a very senior level in a wide variety of health systems.