New Chief Executive takes up role at BSW Integrated Care Board

Sue Harriman has started her new role as Chief Executive designate of the BSW Integrated Care Board (BSW ICB).

At the same time, four Non Executive Directors have also been appointed to the ICB.

Sue was appointed to the position last November and has now officially started her new job which will see her work with health and care partner organisations and Voluntary, Community and Social Enterprise groups to improve outcomes in population health, tackle health inequalities, enhance productivity and value for money and support broader social and economic development in the local area.

Sue joins the BSW ICB from Solent NHS Trust where she held the position of Chief Executive since 2014. She has also recently completed a six-month secondment as Chief Operating Officer for the national Covid-19 vaccination deployment programme.

With more than 16 years of clinical experience gained from working as a nurse in the Royal Navy, Sue joined the NHS in 2002 as a nurse consultant in infection prevention.

In more recent years, Sue has held various executive roles within the NHS, including as a Director of Nursing and Allied Health Professions, Chief Operating Officer and Managing Director before becoming Chief Executive at Solent NHS Trust.

Sue said she was delighted to be joining the BSW ICB.

“I’m very positive about the future as we look towards recovery from the Covid-19 pandemic and continue work to tackle issues of health and wellbeing in the community, maintain and seek to improve the delivery of services and look to ensure they are sustainable and efficient.

We can only achieve this by re-engineering the way we plan and deliver services, as well as continuing to adopt new ways of working and I’m looking forward to working with all of you as we work to achieve these goals.”

Four Non Executive Directors have also been appointed to the BSW ICB to oversee the development and planning of integrated health and care services for the local population.

The four Non Executive Directors are Dr Claire Feehily as Non-Executive Director for Audit, Julian Kirby as Non-Executive Director for Public and Community Engagement, Suzannah Power as Non-Executive Director for Remuneration and People and Professor Rory Shaw as Non-Executive Director for Quality & Performance.

You can read more about our new Non Executive Directors here.